Growing up, life at home was tough but it all made me the man I am today.

It was unfortunate that I could not complete my schooling and matriculate, due to my left leg having complications. This is however, not stopping me from going for it and achieving it in the very near future!

My dream is to become a motivational speaker for kids and to become a sponsored sportsman competing in OCR around the world. (Obstacle Course Race).

Currently I’m 31 years old and I work for a document company in Johannesburg / South Africa.

When I was hannes-jeep6 years old my mom accidentally dropped me and I broke my left leg. I had many operations on my left leg till about 10 years ago. I had then to decide if I was going to amputate or carry on being disabled. 6 years ago I did it (amputated) and have not looked back. It was like a weight had been lifted off of my shoulders and I was now free. I grew up in a hard home, but everything that I have been through has made me the man I am today.

Two of my friends were competing in the Jeep Warrior Races (Obstacle Course Races) and told me to give it a go. February 2015, I decided to give it a try and soon fell in love with Obstacle Course Racing. I have done mostly the Jeep Warrior Race and recently started doing the Beast, which is also part of OCR.

My dream is to get more amputees into the sport, so we can have a class of our own. Up to this point, I am the only amputee to take on the Rookie Elite and Commando Elite. I am really keen to get stuck into the Black Ops, so I can prepare for the dream which is the Black Ops Elite. I want to inspire kids in orphanages, who may feel like there is no hope, because I have been there, and to show them that there is much possibility to be found in every moment of every single day.

I have KNQR’d my fear and I now live every day to the fullest!